It was Semi-Formal at My School This week… To Greek or Not To Greek?

Here’s what I have to say..

Although I am not a part of a sorority I have my own opinions on Greek Life in college. Its a pretty big deal at a lot of colleges,thousands of students all over the US have taken the pledge to be a part of a brother or sisterhood.

I have never had the desire to join a sorority, however I have a couple close girl friends who are ‘sisters’ and I have, in the past had some reservations about Greek life.

When my best friend Sadia decided to rush for Kappa Phi Beta our second year at St. John’s, I had a lot of impatience with the amount of time she spent with these girls. I was always proud of her for being so dedicated to the process, I know it had to be grueling. Not like she was ever allowed to say anything about the rushing. There was a lot of tension in our friendship during that time and I was just as much to blame.

I’m a very honest person I and I will admit when I’m wrong, and I admit I should not have been so judgmental about Sadia’s decision to pledge. There are still a lot of things I don’t agree with in Greek life, and I do have a general opinion of a sorority girl or a frat guy but Sadia doesn’t fit that. Over the past two years she’s been able to successfully manage a full-time course load, two jobs, obligations to Greek Life, as well as best friend obligations… and trust me I’ve been calling on her. I’ve also opened myself up to some of her sorority sisters and have gained some good friends. So I can’t answer the question To Greek or Not To Greek without a bias…

Sadia gives you 5 reasons to go Greek and our mutual friend Katie gives you her 5 uncensored reasons not to go Greek. 

I asked Sadia to make sure she got me the typical Sorority-formal-group-shot at her Semi-Formal this weekend and this is what she gave me. She asked me to have the faces unrecognizable because Greek Life is strict on how they are promoted, especially on the internet.

Leave a Reply

